Peanut Butter Dog Treats

Last week when it was freezing I was brainstorming activities to keep myself busy inside. It turns out that I love baking, but it is dangerous to have so many cookies all to myself (I will eat them all in one night)! So, I thought I would make dog treats! The dogs that I walk would really love that!

I used a peanut butter dog treat recipe from The Cookie Rookie. The selling point was the promise that the recipe would be easy! She did not lead me astray, I did indeed have a very easy time making these.

IMG_0760

I used a heart shaped cookie cutter, and I got Ian to carve the names into the treats.

IMG_0759

Roxy did not have it in her to wait until I took a picture of her and the treat. So, this is her demolishing it!

IMG_0758Lincoln on the other hand was very patient! But, as you can imagine the moment I said release he was quite relieved and quickly took his treat out to the grass to eat it.

Peanut Butter Dog Treats
make great homemade dog treats for your favorite pup, or favorite dog lover.
Author: the cookie rookie
Recipe type: pet treat
Ingredients:
  • 2½ cups whole wheat flour (see note below for substitutions)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 egg
  • ***NOTE: some dogs are allergic to flour/wheat. if you want to make these wheat free, you can use rice flour of coconut flour as a replacement. they will work, but might change the consistency a bit. thanks so much to the readers who wrote it about this!
Instructions
  1. preheat oven to 350F
  2. In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, and the egg. Add peanut butter, water, honey and stir until you have stiff dough. the dough becomes very firm and sticky. you may need to use your hands, or the paddle attachment on your mixer.
  3. On a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough about ½ inch thick and use a cookie cutter to make fun shapes. the treats barely spread and rise, so get creative with your shapes.
  4. Bake for 20 minutes, until golden.
  5. keep in an airtight container or give as gifts

I had fun making these treats, and I hope you will too! It is a great activity for those day that the weather is just not cooperating. Or, a fun weekend activity to do with or without munchkins.

-XO Elise

Leave a Reply

