Wisdom Wednesday with Angus: When They Lick Away Your Tears!

“When an eighty-five pound mammal licks your tears away, then tries to sit on your lap, it’s hard to feel sad.” -Kristan Higgins

Isn’t this a great action shot of Angus whipping his head around?

I have never cried in front of Angus, but he assures me that if I ever do, he will lick my tears away! I know, what a sweet boy!

I can tell you who has seen me cry before. Roxy the Beagle! While growing up, I can’t even tell you how many times I had started to cry only to find my Beagle on my lap trying to catch my tears. Sure, Roxy may have enjoyed the salty taste, she certainly loved licking the sweaty neighborhood boy’s face. But, I truly believe she hated to see me so sad. I distinctly remember having a scrapped up knee and Roxy licked it and my tears clean! Dogs are such loves! Even hound dogs that mainly have food on their minds hate to see their humans sad. It is true what Kristan Higgins has said. There is something about your dog desperately trying to lick your tears away that really makes you smile. It is like an adorably temporary distraction. You forget whatever it is that has you crying just long enough to smile and laugh!

Roxy was never 85 lbs. So, her climbing on my lap was cute and appropriate. But, I have had big dogs climb on my lap. Once again, Higgins is correct. You can’t help but laugh at how ridiculous the entire situation is. Even if you are being squished!

By no means am I encouraging you to lick your friends face next time they are crying. Sure, they may laugh. But, they could also be thoroughly disgusted. What I would encourage you to do is anything to bring a smile back to their face. Even just seeing that they are loved and you care may be enough. Take care of each other!

XO Elise & Angus!

Leave a Reply

