Wisdom Wednesday with Angus: How to Take Good Care of Your Dog When it Gets Hot!

I was very hot during our walk today…. In fact, the heat made me kind of lazy. I know Elise is a sucker and will go along with whatever my mood is. So, I got lots of pets!

This post is more for the humans than the doggies. Since it is getting so hot out, I thought I would make a list of ways to take good care of your dog in the heat!

  • Even though I want to go everywhere with my humans, it really isn’t safe to leave your dog in the car. Even when it is just 70 degrees out the car can quickly reach the hundreds quickly. It seems like if you just leave some water and the windows open your dog will be ok, but it is still too hot.
  • If you are unsure if the ground is too hot for your dog, touch the cement with the back of your hand and hold it there. If you can’t, the ground is too hot for your dogs paws.
  • Hikes are fun in the sun! But, if your need water, your dog also does. There are all sorts of cute containers for water on the go! You get bonus points if there is water to swim in on the hike!
  • I love ice cubes! After an outside adventure give your dog an ice cube to lick. Better yet, make them peanut butter popsicles.

If you aren’t sure if it is too hot outside for your pet, it is better to be safe than sorry.

-Love, Angus

Leave a Reply

